Top 10 Most Biggest Cricket Stadium Around the World

Ekana International Cricket Stadium
1. Sardar Patel Stadium or Motera Cricket Stadium, Gujarat

Located: Ahmedabad, Gujarat

Built: 1982, repaired in 2020

Spectators Capacity: 1.10 lacs

Architect: Shashi Prabhu

Construction cost: 700 crores INR

Motera Cricket Stadium


The Motera Stadium which is officially known as Sardar Vallabhbhai Patel Stadium is the largest cricket stadium in the world as of the year 2020. Located in Ahmedabad, Gujarat it is also the second-largest stadium overall with a total seating capacity of 110,000. It was built in the year 1982 and repaired recently in 2020. Designed by architect Shashi Prabhu, the total construction cost of this stadium is estimated to be 700 crores INR

2. Melbourne Cricket Ground

Located: Melbourne, Australia

Built: 1853

Spectator Capacity: 1, 00,024

Melbourne Cricket Ground


The Melbourne Cricket Ground is also known as “The G”. Located in the Yarra park Melbourne it is the largest stadium in the southern hemisphere and the eleventh largest stadium globally. It is also the largest cricket stadium around the world in terms of capacity after the Sardar Vallabhbhai Patel Stadium. The stadium was built in the year 1853 and has a total seating capacity of 1,00,024. The ground is operated by the Melbourne Cricket Club and has a field size of 171 metres× 146 metres. 

3. Eden Gardens

Located: Kolkata, India

Built: 1864

Spectator Capacity: 66,349

Eden Gardens


The Eden Gardens is the oldest and the second-largest cricket stadium in India. It is a cricket and football multi-purpose ground located in Kolkata,  India. Built in the year 1864 it has a total spectator capacity of 66,349. Operated by the Cricket Association of Bengal it is the home venue of the Bengal Cricket team and the IPL franchise team of Kolkata Knight Riders. In 2019 Indian Gardens hosted the first-ever day and night test match in India during the second test between India and Bangladesh.

4. Shaheed Veer Narayan Singh International Cricket Stadium

Located: Raipur, Chhattisgarh

Built: 2008

Spectator Capacity: 65,000

Shaheed Veer Narayan Singh International Cricket Stadium


The Shaheed Veer Narayan Singh International Cricket Stadium is located in the city of Naya Raipur in Chhattisgarh India. Built in the year 2008, it has a total seating capacity of 65,000. The stadium is operated by Chhattisgarh state cricket Sangh and is the third-largest cricket stadium in India. It is the fourth largest cricket stadium globally with one of the best architecture around the world. The first-ever match was played in the year 2010 when the Canada National Cricket Team arrive in India and played a practice match with the state team of Chhattisgarh.

5. Rajiv Gandhi International Cricket Stadium

Located: Hyderabad, India

Built: 2003

Spectator Capacity: 60,000

Rajiv Gandhi International Cricket Stadium


The Rajiv Gandhi International cricket stadium is located in Hyderabad Telangana. Established in the year 2003 it is the home ground for the Hyderabad Cricket Association. It has a total spectator capacity of 60000. 

6. Greenfield International Stadium

Located: Trivandrum, India

Built: 2014

Spectator Capacity: 55,000

Greenfield International Stadium


The Greenfield International Stadium is located in the city of Thiruvananthapuram, Kerela. It was formerly known as Trivandrum International Stadium and is used as a multi-purpose stadium by both the cricket as well as the football associations. Built in the year 2014 with the spectator capacity of 55000 the stadium is spread across an area of 36 acres. It is the first DBOT model outdoor stadium of India. 

7. Jawaharlal Nehru Stadium

Located: Kochi, India

Built: 1996

Spectator Capacity: 55,000

Jawaharlal Nehru Stadium


Jawaharlal Nehru Stadium is located in New Delhi, India. Named after the first prime minister of India this is primarily a venue for football and other athletics. With a total seating capacity of 45000, this stadium was designed and constructed to meet the standards which have been set by the International Federation of Association of Football, the Asian Football Confederation and the International Association of Athletics Federation in the year 1996. I

8. DY Patil Sports Stadium

Located: Navi Mumbai, India

Built: 2008

Spectator Capacity: 55,000

DY Patil Sports Stadium


The DY Patil Sports Stadium is the football stadium at the D.Y Patil campus in Nerul, Navi Mumbai. It was designed by Hafeez Contractors and built in the year 2008 with a spectator capacity of 55,000. It is the ninth-largest cricket stadium in India, in terms of seating capacity. 

9. Adelaide Oval

Located: Adelaide, Australia

Built: 1871

Spectator Capacity: 53,583

Adelaide Oval


Located in Adelaide, Australia this stadium was built in the gear 1871. It has a spectator capacity of 53,583 and is predominantly used for cricket and Australian rules football. However, it has also hosted several other games including the rugby league, rugby union, soccer and tennis. 

10. Ekana International Cricket Stadium

Located: Lucknow, India

Built: 2017

Spectator Capacity: 50,000

Ekana International Cricket Stadium


The Bharat Ratna Shri Atal Bihari Vajpayee Ekana Cricket Stadium was formerly known as the Ekana International Cricket Stadium which was built in the year 2017 in Lucknow, India. The stadium is under a public-private partnership and has a seating capacity of 50,000. 

11. Docklands Stadium

Located: Melbourne, Australia

Built: 2000

Spectator Capacity: 47,000

Docklands Stadium


Recommended Articles